Another reason why I love my Uncle Lou is for the Muffuletta. He’ld make this for me every summer when he was in town. Its a basic enough sandwhich consisting of bread, olives, different kinds of meat and cheese. But there’s just something about the marinated olive salad with the mortadella and capicola. I’ve only ever eaten his version and I think its rare to find it outside of New Orleans.

Marinated Olive Salad

1/2 cup olive oil
2 teaspoon red wine vinegar
Olives (pitted green and black plives)
1 red onion, diced
sliced pepperoncini salad peppers (personal preference I use about 1/2 cup)
1 tablespoons capers
roasted red bell peppers (store bought in the can)
minced garlic
1/2 grated carrot
1 celery diced

cliantro
oregano
basil
black pepper
salt

combine everything into a food processor and pulse! Throw mixture into the fridge.

Sandwhich assemble-
Italian bread, olive salad, meat-mortadella, salami, and capicola.
Cut bread into half scope up the soft bread. Spread the olive salad, add the meat, layer on the cheese and you’re good to go!
I normally throw the sandwhich under the broiler for a few. But you can eat it as is.

Grouchy’s verdict:
Wicked sandwhich! Its got all the elements to it..crunchy bread, cheesey goodness and so-bad-yet-so-damn-good mortadella.

