Ever since I could remember, whenever I got dark in the sun, I always turned greyish… like a dark ashy colour. Not a golden rich tan, but grey. Last year I spent time whole summer in a tanning booth, in a solar coffin twice a week paying $40/month. Plus the ultra expensive tanning lotions with technology blahblahblah that cost $50 each.

This year and armed with cheapy tanning lotion for less than $10 and not a shred of dignity, I went to Wreck Beach. And guess what? I TANNED!!! and spending the the better half of the day there ogling way too many peens got me a dark roasty tan pretty much for free!!!

Must have products:

  1. Banana Boat Dark Tanning Lotion Continuous Spray SPF – Just remember to press down hard and this will spray a light mist. If you don’t spread it or rub it in, the tan will be dark and rich, hence the difference between my back (dark!) and legs (white!). Cheap at $7.99. Smells fab. Better than those $50 cellulite busting technological lotions – I mean, you would have to use the lotion a lot to prevent cellulite. And always stick with the spray for those hard to reach places.
  2. Shoppers Drug Mart – Life Brand After Sun Spray. Cheap and it works.
  3. Roc Minesol Protect SPF 45 Multi-Position Atomizer – I think using this on my face is breaking me out, but I will use this for arms and neck. Aerosol spray for no mess. I also find that with creams, if you don’t exfoliate very well and apply, you will end up with balls of grey dead skin stuck on your back. Sprays are the way to go.
  4. Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion SPF 55 PA+++ – I think they only sell the spf 50 in Canada, but the higher the better, especially on your face, or else with sunglasses you’ll end up with reverse panda eyes. Lotion, not cream. This has never broken me out.
  5. Water atomizer – Evian, Uriage, Avene, Vichy – whatever suits your fancy.
  6. Bring: large sunglasses (to people watch), white towel (to cover face), cooler tote, beach umbrella (or rent), body towel to clean, beach towel (no plastic mats – they heat up), music, book, and cheapie bikinis from the Target clearance rack….
