Yes, you read it correctly. Orgasmic cheese… not organic.

Went to the Alibi Room last night and had the cheese platter. There was this nondescript semi soft cheese paired with a pile of roasted organic hazelnuts. I spread, took a bite, popped a hazelnut and 3 seconds later it was a nutty orgasm in my mouth. I have NEVER had such a reaction to any cheese before, and it beats out my current fave Beecher’s Flagship by miles.

The Tomme Gros Ille (Quebec) can be found at Mount Pleasant Cheese (new place, May 08) that specializes in Canadian Cheese.

Mount Pleasant Cheese
3432 Cambie Street (near the Park Theatre at West 18th Avenue)
Vancouver, BC V5Z 2W8
604-875-6363
Tues-Sun: 10 a.m.-7 p.m.

aka TOMME DE GROSSE ISLE: – an organic mild semi soft texture cheese. I knew the french was off on that one. Thank you first year french.

